Before items are deleted they might end up in a user’s trash. The trash can be
managed by a user through any of the Box apps, and by an application via the
API.
Box uses a two-stage process to remove or trashfiles, folders, and
web links before permanently deleting them.By default, items can be restored after they are trashed within a 30 day
time frame before they are purged. The purge window can be modified by
an enterprise administrator.More details can be found in the Box community article on Managing Trash
Last modified on January 20, 2026
Was this page helpful?
⌘I
Assistant
Responses are generated using AI and may contain mistakes.